sp1 clutch

Anything else technical related in here...

Moderator: snoopyjon

sp1 clutch

Postby neilninja » Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:09 pm

Hi all noob to this forum , I've just purchased an sp1 w reg in colin edwards colours and have come from four cylinders all the way , The clutch on my bike is on it's way out I guess.It doesn't actually slip yet while going through the gears but on pull away , When I first rode it I was riding it carefully obviously and pulling away very gingerly , no problem.When you raise the revs a bit and try and pull away there's a horrible metal on metal type noise and the bike jerks forward and stops again and the bike doesn't launch anywhere.I'm not a mechanic but realise there's something not right.

How much am I looking at for a new clutch please plus fitting if anyone has had it done before ? cheers people.
Blue flame engineering : The Gerald Ratner of the motorcycle world
neilninja

Postby Speedytwin » Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:54 pm

Well how do i brake it to ya. You just bought an SP1 and thats how they role. the clutch is a sore point on the SP1 but if you stick with it you do get used to it and it becomes more useable try keeping the revs up and sliding the clutch a bit more. they tend to be a bit jerky and make that grouling noise from the clutch if you try taking off in a hurry while bliping the throttle on take off.

hope this helps and makes some sence to ya.
I am a wepon of masive consumption it's not my fault it's how im programed to function.
Speedytwin

Re: sp1 clutch

Postby hanberg » Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:13 am

To me it sounds strange, Ive never experienced any real jerkiness and/or metallic sounds when launching my SP1.
Tried a few other too, and nothing there either.
Id just get it by a mechanic to have a checkup.
hanberg

Re:

Postby neilninja » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:31 am