Cold running problem

Anything else technical related in here...

Moderator: snoopyjon

Cold running problem

Postby madratt65 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:27 pm

Can anyone help?

I've put this under 'Other' as I'm not exactly sure where the problem really lies (I'm no mechanic).

My 2001 SP1 which has done <10,000 miles and has no PC fitted. When ticking over cold, the revs occasionally drop by as much as 500 for a few seconds and then come back. The bigger problem is when you are about to set off. You have to be really gentle and smooth letting the clutch out as you're in danger of the bike stalling :oops: because the revs will drop, or you overcompensate the revs drop by giving it more gas. When this happens and the revs kick back in, the bike tries to act like a bucking bronco and it feels as though you're going to pull a huge out of control wheelie :o .
This all takes place over just a few seconds, but its really unnerving. Once the bike has warmed up and done 5 or 6 miles it settles down and the problem stops. If you have to set off from junctions or lights in those first 6 miles you have to be really careful - and I'm not over-reacting!
A mate of mine says it might be something to do with an air balance screw?

My first SP wasn't fitted with a PC either and I didn't have this issue.

Would appreciate any help or suggestions. I've not taken it to a garage yet, I just wanted some idea of what the problem was first.

Cheers

Mark.
madratt65

Re: Cold running problem

Postby snoopyjon » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:40 am

Ok, tell me to rod off if you like, but the guy that sold me my SP2 nearly five years ago said pretty much the same thing, word for word, and that I should let it warm up for 5-10 minutes before attempting to move anywhere. I found out a few days after getting the bike that it in fact had a choke. He had no idea. I was surprised, being fuel injected, that was the case, but there you have it.