Suspension Settings SP2 - ongoing tweaks

Suspension related queries here...

Moderator: snoopyjon

Suspension Settings SP2 - ongoing tweaks

Postby Mono » Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:57 am

Hi All,

I decided to have a play with the suspension settings on the SP as its a bit of a bucking bronco ride on the UK roads! I notice it more due to riding an 07 blade and having the direct comparision between the 2 bikes. Also riding for a while both road/ track you get a feel on how a bike should feel or not feel.

Ok this thread will be ongoing but thought I would share some of the set up and how I'm doing it and some of my conclusions. Im no expert... but I guess most of us are not on the forum. :mrgreen:

First thing was to measure the Static/ Rider Sag. This is how I did it. I found this website a great help to understand the basics and what I needed to do.

http://www.gostar-racing.com/informatio ... set-up.htm

This is what you want to be aiming for as a rough guide for road riding:-
Front:-
Rider Sag = 35-48mm
Static Sag = 25-30mm

Rear:-
Rider Sag = 30-40mm
Static Sag = 5-10mm

To give you an idea, my bike is an 02 model SP2 its done around 11K, I think the suspension/springs are all standard and assume its the original fork oil from new (unless the fork seals have been changed in this time?) I am about 13.5 stone with all my bike kit on.

After putting the bike on the standard settings from the owners manual as the base point to measure the sag, the conclusion I found that the front end springs are too soft and the rear spring is way too hard.

These are the standard settings:-

Preload - 6 turns from soft
Rebound - 1 turn from hard
Compression - 12 turns from hard

Rear
Preload - setting 5
Compression - 10 turns from hard